Sunday, October 5, 2008

Three Star Gods

The Three Star Gods, Traditional Chinese: 福祿壽, Simplified Chinese: 福禄寿, , are the gods of happiness, rank and longevity respectively. These gods are no longer worshipped in the traditional sense, but they are considered auspicious by Chinese around the world.

Fuk , the happiness and wealth god, sometimes called Fu-Hsing, stands one head taller than the other two Star Gods when being represented artistically, and is always placed in the center. Favors are asked of him on the twentieth day of the seventh lunar month. He holds a gold ingot.

Luk is the god of rank and affluence. He is often depicted as holding a child or a sceptre of power. He symbolizes one's ability to better oneself and reap high rewards.

Sau is the god of health and longevity. He is recognized by his high, domed forehead and the peach which he carries as a symbol of immortality.

These gods are often seen as a set in many Chinese homes. Depictions of them are used widely in feng shui.

They are also called gods of Longevity, Prosperity, and Fortune, often seen in following order: God of Fortune, Prosperity, Longevity , in painting and statues.

We can see the God of Fortune sometime holding a child, or surrounded by children, because having many children is considered a blessing by Chinese.

The God of Prosperity can be considered representing rich, and rank as well.

The starting of the worship of the Gods is said to be from Ming dynasty.

They are also called Shou Xing, Fu Xing and Lu Xing, which means Star of Longevity, Prosperity and Fortune, they have their correspondences in ancient Chinese astronomy.

The Star of Longevity is actually , sometimes called the Star of the Old, or Star of South Pole.
The Star of Prosperity is .
The Star of Fortune is Jupiter.

1 comment:

feng shui said...

Thank you for updating me with the three star Gods.
Feng Shui, the ancient art of creating harmony in your environment permits you to live a balanced and harmonious life.